Thursday, May 31, 2012

A Season of Growing and Deepening Faith

Ordinary Time. 

After Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Holy Week, Resurrection Sunday, Ascension Day, and Pentecost, Ordinary Time comes. Ordinary Time is not ho-hum time, but rather ordinal or counted time (counting the time until the next church season). It’s essentially the time between the season Easter and the season of Christmas. It is a time to focus on different aspects of our faith, especially missions.

Ordinary time last from the first Sunday after Pentecost until the last Sunday before Advent (aka Christ the King Sunday). Some churches split Ordinary Time into two parts: 1) first Sunday after Pentecost through Reformation Sunday and All Saints’ Day. 2) All Saints’ Day through first Sunday before Advent. The color is green-for hope in God, for eternal life.

Ordinary time is the time to delve into your faith and grow as a believer. Study the Word, fellowship with believers, listen to God. 

What are you curious about, in regards to Christianity? This is the perfect time for a research project.

No comments:

Post a Comment